1. Where are you located? What are your hours of operation?

Our offices are located in downtown Jacksonville. Our hours of operation are 9:00am to 6:00pm Monday through Friday. After hours, leave us a message and we will get back to you the next business day.

2. What are your fees?

Attorney fees vary with each case, depending on their complexity. Call our offices to get a consultation and quote for your specific case.

3. Do you practice other areas of law aside from the ones listed on this page?

Many areas of practice are transferable. Call our offices to see if we are able to handle your case. If we cannot, we can refer you to an attorney who can.

4. How long does a divorce take?

Divorces may take anywhere from a couple of weeks to years. It all depends on the cooperation of the spouses and how complex is the case. If it is an uncontested divorce, be sure to have all documents and information about the case ready for the attorney so your case can be expedited.

5. What are the court costs?

For a divorce, the cost to file the petition for dissolution are $409, which is the responsibility of the client. Without this filing fee, a dissolution of marriage cannot be filed by our offices. The only exception is if you utilize our document preparation service (without legal representation in court by an attorney) and you apply for indigence. If you are approved for indigence, the court waives the filing fee. This option is only available only for people that are not utilizing a private attorney for legal representation in court. If you are represented by a private attorney in court, it is highly probable they will not approve an indigence. Our offices does not apply for indigence on behalf of the clients.

There may be other costs associated with your case. Call our offices to get an estimate as to the court costs required in your case.

6. What if I cannot find my spouse and I want a divorce?

Just like in any other civil matter, if one of the spouses cannot be found or his/her residence is not readily identifiable, you need to serve your spouse via service by publication. This is an additional cost to the client and you need to prove that you have done diligent efforts to try to find him/her. This type of service limits your legal relief. Call our offices for more information.

7. I live in another state, can I still get a divorce in Florida?

Yes, as long as there is one party that has been a resident of Florida for at least 6 months prior of the filing of the divorce with the court. If both spouses reside in another state, you cannot get a divorce in Florida (unless you are a military member, which other rules apply).

8. How are custody and child support determined in a divorce?

If it is an uncontested divorce, the spouses may agree as to a parenting plan to determine timesharing (previously known as “custody”). One parent may be the majority timesharing parent and the other parent may have visitation (ex. weekends, holidays, overnights, summers…etc), or maybe both parents may share joint custody. Child support may be agreed between the parties.
If it is a contested divorce, the court determines what timesharing plan is in the best interests of the child. Family court is discretionary, therefore it cannot be predicted what the judge will rule. Child support is calculated following Florida Child Support Guidelines.
The Florida Child Support Guidelines may be found here:
Child support may vary, depending on the financial evidence presented in court.

9. I do not have any money to pay for an attorney, where can I find free legal help and advice?

If you cannot afford an attorney, you may call the Jacksonville Legal Aid, located in downtown Jacksonville. If you are income-eligible, you may be able to receive free legal help.

Still have questions?

(904) 800-6767
or email us at info@maziarkalaw.com
We will be glad to answer your questions!

Get a consultation

Send us your contact information and one of our Attorneys will contact you within 24 hours.